Print Friendly

Book of the Year Banner

Outstanding Theatre Book of the Year Award recognizes the book judged to have best exemplified documentation and appreciation of historic theatres. Nominations are voted on by the Board of Directors and the award is presented at the awards banquet during the annual Conclave each June.

Previous winners have included:

2005       Cinema Treasures by Ross Melnick & Andreas Fuchs
2006       The Theatres of Boston by Donald C. King
2007       Motion Picture Exhibition in Baltimore by Robert Headly Theatres by Andrew Craig Morrison
2008       Cinema Houston by David Welling and Twin Cities Picture Show by Dave Kenney
2009       Our Movie Houses by Norman O. Keim
2010       Encore! The Renaissance of Wisconsin Opera Houses by Brian Doyle
2011       Milwaukee Movie Theatres by Larry Widen and The Brooklyn Theatre Index by Cezar Del Valle
2012       Downtown Chicago’s Historic Movie Theatres by Konrade Schiecke
2013       American Showman: Samuel “Roxy” Rothafel and the Birth of the Entertainment Industry, 1908-1935 by Dr. Ross Melnick (Published 2012)
2014       Columbus, Indiana’s Historic Crump Theatre by David Sechrest (Published 2013)

Nomination deadline: December 31 of each year.

How to nominate a title: Submit this online form.*

*All nominees nominating their own title must also provide THS with a copy of their book for consideration. Please mail all copies to: THS 152 North York Street, Elmhurst, IL 60126