Texas State

Austin, TX — Austin theatre gets grant money for repairs

Texas StateAustin, TX — Austin theatre gets grant money for repairs
by SHELTON GREEN / KVUE News and photojournalist DENNIS THOMAS | Published by kvue.com
Posted on April 8, 2013

Monday evening at One Texas Center in South Austin, a special committee with Austin’s Historic Landmark Commission approved a grant which will be used to repair and renovate a historic building on Congress Avenue.

The Austin Convention and Visitor’s Bureau offered two $47,000 grants, one to help repair the Paramount Theatre’s façade. The second grant will be used to restore The State Theatre’s sign to its original luster.

Use of the grant money had to first be approved by the Historic Landmark Commission’s Committee on Application Appropriateness.

Forty percent of the neon on The State Theatre’s sign is missing according to Jonathan Humphrey with the Austin Theater Alliance.

“Visually there are aspects of the façade, the brick and the grouting and the stone work that are literally falling,” Humphrey said, speaking of the Paramount Theatre.

Humphrey also said that both the State and Paramount are showing signs of animal infiltration in the front. The grant money will help to remedy those problems and more.

Monday evening, the Historic Landmark Commission Committee approved the $47,000 grant for the State Theatre repairs. The grant for the same amount for the Paramount Theatre is pending but is expected to be approved.

The entire Austin Historic Landmark Commission has to sign off on the grant money in its meeting on April 22nd.

(Click here for the full article.)

Leave a Comment

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


© Theatre Historical Society of America. York Theatre Building • 152 N. York Street, 2nd floor • Elmhurst, IL 60126-2806 • Ph. (630) 782-1800 • Fax (630) 782-1802 • info@historictheatres.org • Copyright © 2013 Theatre Historical Society of America. All rights reserved.