Print Friendly

The Nominating & Governance Committee has proposed the following slate of candidates for election as At-large Directors for the three-year term, 2014-2017.

Names of candidates:

Curtis Cooper
Lisa DiChiera
Ward Miller
Mark Wretschko

CANDIDATES’ Biographies

Curtis Cooper | Curtis Cooper oversees information technology for Common Ground, a crisis services agency in Oakland County, Michigan.  His first memorable experience with historic theaters was watching a Disney film at The Macomb in Mount Clemens, Michigan.  Curtis’s first exposure to Theatre Historical Society was a pile of Marquee issues and books, including The Best Remaining Seats, in his grandfather’s possessions.  It only took him 24 years to join.  He hopes to make up for 24 years of procrastination by being a vocal advocate for both THS’s role as the authority on historic theaters and the continued life of as many of those theaters as possible.                                            

Lisa DiChiera | Lisa DiChiera received Bachelor of Art degrees in art and architectural history from UCLA and a Master of Science in historic preservation from the University of Pennsylvania.  Lisa’s Master’s Thesis, The Theatre Designs of C. Howard Crane, is an in-depth look at the work of one of the most prolific theatre architects in the United States.  Lisa has worked for the National Trust for Historic Preservation and the Hines Interests, as project manager of urban planning and government review components of General Motor’s redevelopment of the Renaissance Center and River East area of Detroit, Michigan.  Currently, Lisa is Director of Advocacy for Landmarks Illinois.

Ward Miller | Ward Miller is an award-winning architect, scholar and preservationist based in Chicago, Illinois.  Ward attended Northwestern University and studied architecture at The Illinois Institute of Technology.  He worked on many restoration projects, remodelings and museum installations for Vinci-Hamp Architects for twenty years.  He co-authored The Complete Works of Adler & Sullivan, which was named book of the year by Atlantic Magazine and also earned a gold medal from the Independent Publishers of America.  Ward has been honored by the American Institute of Architects-Chicago for Distinguished Service in 2010.  He is the former Executive Director of the Richard Nickel Committee & Archive and currently the Executive Director of Preservation Chicago.  For over 30 years he has been an architecture advocate, raising concerns about imperiled buildings.

Mark Wretschko | Mark Wretschko has been with American Seating for over 35 years, starting his career as a financial analyst, eventually becoming a director of finance.  He has held various sales positions over the past half of his career, now holding the title of National Sales Manager.  This has given Mark the ability to visit hundreds of historical theatres where many have held American Seating chair products.  In addition to his company responsibilities, Mark has been active in both THS and LHAT and served a 6 year term on the board of directors for the League of Historic American Theatres.  Mark also helped THS with the recent Michigan Conclave.


The voting period has ended.

Voting Deadline: 11:45 PM CST, May 15, 2014