THS Director Ed Kelsey of Los Angeles is named Member of the Year.

THS Awards Banquet during recent Conclave

THS Director Ed Kelsey of Los Angeles is named Member of the Year.

THS President Karen Colizzi Noonan
and Sally Caglia of the Warnor’s Theatre

Wilma Humason was awarded the Creating Theatre History Award presented at her family’s Hanford Fox Theatre.

At the annual banquet during the Central Valley Conclave on June 29 at the  Marriott Hotel in Visalia THS presented awards to three people.

The Creating Theatre History Award went to the J. Daniel Humason family for its stewardship of the Fox Theatre in Hanford. The family re-opened the house in 1982 and it anchors the downtown with films, live shows, meetings and weddings.

The Honorary Member of the Year Award went to Sally Caglia of the Warnor’s Theatre, Fresno. She is the second generation stewarding the theatre that her father Frank bought in 1973. Frank Caglia was named THS Member of the Year in 1975.

The Member of the Year Award for 2012 went to THS Director Ed Kelsey who is also chair of the finance committee and assistant treasurer.  He has worked to keep the relationship with THS and the League of Historic American Theatres strong.  His strong ties to the Orpheum Theatre in Los Angeles and the other movie palaces on Broadway there have created opportunities for THS.

Other awards for 2012 previously presented were Outstanding Book of the Year: Downtown Chicago’s Historic Movie Theatres by Konrad Schiecke (available through the THS website link to and Weiss Literary Competition First Place Award to Nichelle Frank for her paper “The Best Show in Town — Motion Picture Theatre Architecture in Denver”

The 2013 Conclave will be June 19-22 to Connecticut, Massachusetts, and the Capitol District of New York with headquarters in Schenectady.

Photos above by Rick Fosbrink, Kathy McLeister and Dr. John Kiesendahl.

Leave a Comment

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


© Theatre Historical Society of America. York Theatre Building • 152 N. York Street, 2nd floor • Elmhurst, IL 60126-2806 • Ph. (630) 782-1800 • Fax (630) 782-1802 • • Copyright © 2013 Theatre Historical Society of America. All rights reserved.