bloom award

THS Awards Presented

Our 2011 Conclave also included our traditional Awards Banquet to honor outstanding accomplishment in 2010 as nominated by the membership and voted on by the Directors.

MEMBER OF THE YEAR is Publications Director KEN BLOOM for his outstanding stewardship of our signature publications Marquee and the Annual.

HONORARY MEMBER OF THE YEAR went to Dr. Sam & Patty Shaheen who personally contributed almost $8 million to save and renovate the Temple  Theatre in Saginaw, MI. They then gifted the theater to the people of Saginaw.

CREATING THEATRE HISTORY AWARD will be presented to filmmaker Michael Moore for his personal efforts to restore the State Theatre in Traverse City, Michigan and for creating a business model that is being used to return historic small town theaters to use and vitality all across Michigan.  THS visited the State Theater and was treated to a wonderful video presentation and tour of this groundbreaking facility.  The award will be presented to Mr Moore during the annual Traverse City Film Festival later this month.

OUTSTANDING BOOK OF THE YEAR:  Publications during 2010 were submitted to THS for consideration and voted on during the 2011 Winter Board Meeting.   This year, we had a tie for the top spot! Congratulations to  Larry Widen for Milwaukee Movie Theaters and Cezar DelValle for his multi-volume compilation Brooklyn Theatre Index.  These books are available in the THS Bookstore by visiting

One Comment

  1. I would like to thank the Theatre Historical Society (its officers and board members) for awarding the Brooklyn Theatre Index the 2010 Outstanding Book of the Year. Regret not being able to accept in person.

Leave a Comment

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


© Theatre Historical Society of America. York Theatre Building • 152 N. York Street, 2nd floor • Elmhurst, IL 60126-2806 • Ph. (630) 782-1800 • Fax (630) 782-1802 • • Copyright © 2013 Theatre Historical Society of America. All rights reserved.