THS Member Ken Bloom wins ASCAP Prize

THS Member Ken Bloom is the Executive Producer of the Michael Feinstein’s American Songbook.

Michael Feinstein’s American Songbook Wins ASCAP Deems Taylor Television Broadcast Award
By: Dan Bacalzo · Nov 9, 2010 ·
The three-part PBS series Michael Feinstein’s American Songbook has been named the 2010 recipient of the ASCAP Deems Taylor Television Broadcast Award.
The series chronicles Feinstein’s lifelong mission to keep the Great American Songbook alive, as he preserves and passes along the lyrics and melodies of songwriters like George and Ira Gershwin, Cole Porter, Irving Berlin, and Rodgers and Hart, all while performing more than 150 shows a year across the country. The program — which stars Feinstein and is produced and directed by Amber Edwards, Hudson West Productions — was broadcast in October, and is currently available for purchase on DVD.
Presented by ASCAP (the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers), the 42nd Annual ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards recognize outstanding print, broadcast and new media coverage of music. The winners will be honored at a special invitation-only ceremony and reception on Thursday, December 9, 2010 at the ASCAP Gallery, in New York.

No Comments

  1. Joan Lengyel

    What a wonderful piece of recognition. Ken can give us the back story.

Leave a Comment

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


© Theatre Historical Society of America. York Theatre Building • 152 N. York Street, 2nd floor • Elmhurst, IL 60126-2806 • Ph. (630) 782-1800 • Fax (630) 782-1802 • • Copyright © 2013 Theatre Historical Society of America. All rights reserved.